Skip to main content
Core Actions

Say

Reference documentation for using the Say action

Written By Support Channel

Last updated Over 1 year ago

Overview of the Say action

The Say action allows a workflow to send a message to a user. Unlike the Ask action, it does not wait for a response.

Purpose

To send a message to a user.

Parameters

1 Chat Client Instance
1 User Email
1 Message to Send

Output

None

Understanding the Say action

The Say action is used to communicate with users within a workflow by sending them a simple message in a chat client. It does not pause the workflow or take any user input.

Chat Client Instance

Select the Chat Client instance where the message will be sent to

User Email

Enter the email address of the user who should receive the card. This must be a valid user within the selected Chat Client instance.

Message to Send

The message that the action will send to the user.

Create and manage Say actions

Add a Say action

Add the action

Use the following steps to add the action to a workflow.

  1. Click the ‘plus’ symbol on the workflow path at the point you want to insert the action. This opens the action menu slide-over.

  2. Either:

    • Search for the action using the Search field above the actions in the menu.

    • Locate a Recently Used action in the top section of the menu.

    • Navigate to the action within menu: Core actions are listed under Actions, while Plugin actions are contained within their associated integration.

  3. Select the desired action to insert it. This reveals the action’s configuration panel.

  4. Use the Name field to name the action. This can help users to understand your workflow at a glance. (optional)

  5. Use the Description field to add information describing the action. This can help users wanting to understand how your workflow functions (optional).

Configure the action

Use the following steps to configure the action.

  1. Set the Chat Client Instance, User Email and Message to Send fields.

  2. Click back in the main view to hide the slide-over.

Delete a Say action

Use the following steps to remove the action from your workflow:

  1. Access the workflow in draft mode to edit it.

  2. Either:

    • hover your mouse cursor over the action, and then click the red cross that appears over the top-right corner of the action to delete it. Or:

    • click on the action to open the action slide-over. Click the red 'Delete Step’ button to remove the action from your workflow.

  3. Click Publish in the top-right to commit your changes.

Take care when deleting an action to also remove any logic using its outputs: workflow steps may function incorrectly or break if they attempt to evaluate an output of a deleted action.

Was this helpful?

Still need help? Share an idea